Font Size:    

Later Liang

As one of the Five Dynasties (907 - 960), the Later Liang Dynasty was established by Zhu Wen, Emperor Taizu and lasted for 17 years. Its capital was Kaifeng (in Henan Province today).

Zhu Wen took part in the Huang Chao Peasant Rebellion at the end of the Tang Dynasty (618 - 907), and later surrendered to the Tang. In 907 AD, he dethroned the emperor of the Tang Dynasty and made himself emperor, with Liang as the title of his reigning dynasty. After the establishment of the Later Liang, Zhu Wen continued to fight against other regimes for supremacy on the one hand, whilst being immeasurably dissolute in his personal life on the other. As a result, Zhu Wen was killed by his son Zhu Yougui who was again killed by his younger brother Zhu Youzhen, the last ruler of the Later Liang Dynasty, a rare occurrence in Chinese history.

After coming to the throne, Zhu Wen paid great attention to the agricultural sector, for example, encouraging farming and reducing land rent and many taxes. These measures helped significantly unify the middle and lower reaches of the Yellow River. During its prosperous period, the territory of Later Liang covered Henan and Shanxi Province, most of Shaanxi and Hubei provinces as well as part of Anhui, Jiangsu, Jiangxi, Gansu, Ningxia and Liaoning Provinces.

I want to say
  • ReplyJack
    2017/4/5 12:34:00

    at least i found what it was known for. THANKS

  • ReplyGaby,   United States
    2009/2/8 18:57:00

    I think you should add pictures for people to see!That would be nice.

  • ReplyShaana,   United States
    2009/1/19 19:45:00

    I wish that you would add more stuff about this like they things they made and some accomplishments and some changes. That is what i think!!!