Home : City Guide: Wuhan: Attractions

Heptachord Terrace & Guiyuan Temple

 Heptachord Terrace

Heptachord Terrace is located on the south bank of Moon Lake, near the western foot of Tortoise Hill. The terrace is also named Boya Terrace because of the famous story that happened here.

It is said that in the Spring and Autumn Period (770-476 B.C.), a famous musician Yu Boya once was stranded here by a sudden heavy rain. He played a piece of music High Mountains and Flowing Steams on the boat, and a woodcutter, Zhong Ziqi, heard his music. Yu Boya found that Zhong Ziqi could completely understand his music. So he invited Zhong Ziqi to come into the boat, and the two discussed the music for a whole night. The next day, they made an appointment that they would meet here one year later. But unfortunately, Yu Boya only saw the grave of Zhong Ziqi at the appointed date. Zhong Ziqi, the only person who could understand his music passed away. Yu Boya was so depressed and grief-stricken that he played the piece of music in front of the grave and then smashed his heptachord and never played music again.

The famous story about their friendship touched many people. And so Heptachord Terrace was built during the Northern Song Dynasty (960-1127) to memorize their friendship. After experiencing several destructions and reconstructions, the terrace existing now is from the constructions of 1957. With great layout and beautiful scenery inside, many people come to visit here each year.

Admission Fee: CNY 8
Bus Route: 5, 6, 13, 42, 524

Guiyuan Buddhist Temple, Wuhan

 Guiyuan Temple

Guiyuan Temple, which is located on Cuiwei Street, boasts of the perfect architectures, excellent sculptures and rich collections of Buddhist sutras and treasures. The temple was originally built in 1658 by two monks named Baiguang and Zhufeng. These two monks doctored locals for many years, and people collected money and built the Guiyuan Temple to thank them. Now the temple can be divided into five courtyards, covering an area of more than 20,000 sq meters (4.94 acres). The main structures are Mahavira Hall, Arhat Hall and Sutra Collecting Pavilion.

Mahavira Hall (Daxiongbaodian) is the main hall of the temple. The sculptures of Sakyamuni and his disciples are enshrined in this hall; situated behind Sakyamuni is a group of sculptures of Kwan-yin and other Buddhas. These sculptures have been well preserved for more than three hundreds years. Arhat Hall is even more amazing because of the 500 sculptures of Arhats it houses. Some of the sculptures are sitting, some standing; some reading, some contemplating; some are happy, some are sad; some are pure and some are knowing. All the 500 sculptures in different poses and appearances make the hall a mine of art. Sutra Collecting Pavilion was originally built in 1669 and was later destroyed by war. In 1997, a new pavilion was built on the site, preserving the original style and dimensions. Most of the precious sutras and culture relics are preserved here.

Although the temple doesn't hold a long history, it attracts more and more pilgrims and visitors every year.

Admission Fee: CNY 10
CNY 20 (during the Spring Festival, May Holiday and October Holiday)